Buffalo Trail School Division Trusteeship Information – Wards, Deposit and Nomination Day

Local Jurisdiction: Buffalo Trail School Division, Province of Alberta

A \$200.00 deposit (cash, certified cheque or money order) must accompany the nomination paper in accordance with Bylaw 02-2020 of Buffalo Trail School Division and pursuant to the Local Authorities Election Act – Sections 27, 28, 29 and 30. A nomination paper shall not be accepted by the Returning Officer unless the correct deposit is accompanied with the nomination paper.

For the 2021 election nominations will be accepted at the division office (1041 – 10A Street, Wainwright, AB) on business days, during business hours, starting January 4, 2021 until Nomination Day September 20, 2021 at 12:00 pm. The Returning Officer is Faye Dunne.

As per Section 76(1) of the Education Act, the Board establishes the nomination of Trustees by electoral wards within the boundaries of Buffalo Trail Public Schools as follows;

Ward 1:

One (1) Trustee to be elected by residents of that part of the County of Minburn lying East of the road running South to North from between Sections 15 and 16, Range 12, Township 50 to between Sections 2 and 3, Range 12, Township 53.

Ward 2:

One (1) Trustee to be elected by residents of the Town and Municipal District of Provost.

Ward 3:

Electoral Subdivision #1: One (1) Trustee to be elected by residents of the Town of Wainwright.

Electoral Subdivision #2: One (1) Trustee to be elected by residents of that part of the Municipal District of Wainwright lying East of Highway 41, including the Villages of Chauvin and Edgerton.

Electoral Subdivision #3: One (1) Trustee to be elected by residents of that part of the Municipal District of Wainwright lying West of Highway 41, including CFB Wainwright at Denwood AB. and the Village of Irma.

Ward 4:

Electoral Subdivision #1: One (1) Trustee to be elected by residents of the Town of Vermilion. Electoral Subdivision #2: One (1) Trustee to be elected by residents of that part of the County of Vermilion River located West of Secondary Highway No. 893, South of the County boundary and South from the Allendale Road at North of NW 7-52-7-W4, East 20 miles to Secondary Highway No. 893. Electoral Subdivision #3: One (1) Trustee to be elected by residents of that part of the County of Vermilion River located East of Secondary Highway No. 893, South to the North banks of the Battle River and all those residents located South of the Streamstown road located at North of NW 21-51-4-W4, East 22 miles; inclusive of the Villages of Kitscoty and Paradise Valley.

<u>Electoral Subdivision #4</u>: One (1) Trustee to be elected by residents of that part of the County of Vermilion River located North of the Allendale Road and the Streamstown Road, North to the County boundary; inclusive of the Villages of Dewberry and Marwayne.

Location of Local Jurisdiction Office:

Buffalo Trail School Division - Central Services 1041 - 10 A Street Wainwright, Alberta T9W 2R4

Phone: (780) 842-6144 Fax: (780) 842-3255

Additional information may be obtained by contacting the Returning Officer.

Faye Dunne,
Returning Officer
Faye.dunne@btps.ca